Hyrule On My Mind

This isn’t a Zelda blog, I swear. It really isn’t. It’s an all-around Nintendo blog. It’s not for reviews, it’s not for reviews, it’s not for Let’s Plays… it’s for, you know, essays on the all-around Nintendo experience over the past thirty years.

That said… we’re less than a month away from Breath of the Wild, and over the next few weeks there’s going to be a lot of Zelda-themed shenanigans going on in this space. It stands to reason, I suppose. The Legend of Zelda is my favorite franchise, the biggest Zelda game since Ocarina of Time is about to drop, I have a cat named Zelda (true story), and I’ve spent the past year playing through all of the 3D Zelda games, not to mention a handful of the 2D games (The Minish Cap, The Legend of Zelda, Zelda 2… which I FINALLY BEAT. I should write about that…) So, yes, I’m going to be jotting down a bunch of words about The Legend of Zelda over the course of the next couple of weeks. Some my planned posts include:

  • A look at which games one should play, and in which order, if one was to attempt to play through the franchise’s core mythology.
  • The top ten bosses in 3D Zelda games.
  • My attempt at scientifically determining which of the 3D games is the best, and which is the worst.
  • Some musings on what it was like to FINALLY beat Zelda 2. (See? I’m gonna write about that.)
  • Presumably some stuff about how awesome Breath of the Wild is.

And so on, and so forth. Once I get through all of that, however, and once I’m finished with Breath of the Wild, I’d expect to have a very long Zelda drought. I’ve spent the past year-ish playing through eight Zelda games, after all. I think after I’m done with Breath of the Wild, I’m going to need a breather.

Also, I refuse to play through the three Game Boy Color games. They’re awful.

… I should write about that.

Featured image original link: http://carrotpixel64.deviantart.com/art/Hyrule-Field-HD-435505706

9 thoughts on “Hyrule On My Mind

  1. MAN! I cannot believe that in less than a month, some chipper Amazon employee is going to be delivering a new, home and portable Nintendo console, with a new Zelda game. Like it hasn’t even really hit me yet, I think.

    Side note, the Gameboy Color games are truly incredible. I’m very surprised to hear you are not a fan, although it’s clearing not because of the age of the games since you liked Zelda 1 and 2.

    I _highly recommend_ the Oracle of Ages/Seasons duet. They are incredible games that have such simple gameplay mechanics but absolutely beautiful environments, with the music to complement them. Seasons was my personal favorite due to the changing environments that are straight works of art, but they are completely essential for any Zelda fan. I trust you will make the right choice. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think part of my distaste for the GBC games is because, of late, it’s become very trendy for people to call them “the best” Zelda games, particularly Link’s Awakening.

      And they are very good Game Boy games. But they are NOT the “best” Zelda games. Not by a long shot.

      Like

    2. … and I think it hasn’t hit me yet, either; probably because Nintendo played their cards so close to the vest with the NX for so long, and it feels like a very short amount of time has passed since the actual Switch reveal.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment